100 Bellies in 100 Days, Number 97! The Story Behind the Belly with Chelsea

Baby girl number three is nearly here for Chelsea and her family!  I had a lot of fun hanging out with Chelsea and her four and two year old daughters the other day at their home in Boulder!  Chelsea’s two older girls are excited to meet their little sister very soon, and although mom and dad don’t officially have a name picked out, the girls have some pretty good names in mind.  We’ll see if they are able to persuade mom and dad with their choices once their little sister arrives.  Chelsea’s story is a lot of fun to read, I think her reference to women as super heroes with baby creating super powers awesome!  You’re going to love the last line in Chelsea’s story, I did!  Thank you for such a great story Chelsea!

The Story Behind the Belly

by Chelsea

When I found out I was pregnant with my first daughter four years ago, I assumed that I’d have a conventional pregnancy and birth simply because I didn’t know any different. I imagined seeing an OB, going to the hospital and getting an epidural because that’s just what you do. 

 More than halfway through my pregnancy however, something hit me really hard: this was my experience and my coming-of-age. I felt a sudden greatness in realizing that my amazing body was creating this perfect little being without me having any actual intellectual idea how to create a baby. What an incredible natural power!

 Through lots of research, intuition and faith in myself and my husband, I decided at 30 weeks pregnant to switch over to a midwife and to have a home-birth. I trusted so strongly in my body’s own ability to give birth in a peaceful, natural way without intervention that I took that leap. It wasn’t an easy decision, and I know fully that it’s not the right decision for a lot of women, but again, I knew that this was my miracle and I was entitled to have it happen in my way. 

 My daughter was born in the most beautiful and peaceful way I could possibly imagine; with only my husband, myself and our midwife in my quiet bedroom. I wouldn’t trade that experience for the world. 

 The empowerment I felt as a woman and a vessel for life just grew more with my second pregnancy and home birth with my second daughter. 

 Now, 36 weeks into my third pregnancy with my third daughter, I can’t believe how fortunate I am to once again be experiencing the wonder that is pregnancy. 

 That’s not to say it’s the same experience this time around. I sometimes feel guilty that, with two other small kiddos running around, I can go days without even remembering that I’m pregnant! And even when I do remember, the silent moments that I had to “connect” to my first two pregnancies are next to nonexistent this time around. 

Despite that, I still have huge trust and faith in my body’s own natural ability to create another miracle. That’s a pretty cool superpower to know you possess. Even more than that, though, is my new-found appreciation and awe whenever I see another pregnant belly. Each and every woman who has ever been pregnant and given birth – no matter what their story has been – is a miracle worker.

 Birth is an everyday miracle and women are everyday super heroes. End of story. “

Chelsea_F
